Announcing the Real Series 2017 video competition lineup

X Games announces the seven Real Series video competitions to take place on in 2017. Six will be featured in an hourlong "World of X Games" broadcast on ABC. The newest extension, Real Mountain, will take place online.

The Real Series returns to the World of X Games content lineup on and ABC, beginning with the Real Ski video competition on February 15, 2017.

A forum for the world's best riders and filmers to create premium video content, the Real Series brings together the worlds of competitive action sports and core video parts. Originally launched with Real Street in 2010, the Real Series has now grown to include six video competitions each year, with snowboarding, freeskiing, BMX, FMX and wakeboard disciplines added into the lineup.

The Real Series on ABC schedule for 2017 is detailed below:

Event               Contest starts online       ABC broadcast
Real Ski                     February 15                     February 25
Real Snow                 March 15                          March 25
Real Street               May 17                              May 28
Real BMX                 June 14                             June 24
Real Moto                 August                              August
Real Wake               September                       September

The six Real Ski athletes invited to compete are: Magnus Graner, Khai Krepala, Henrik Harlaut, Tom Wallisch, Will Wesson and LJ Strenio.

The Real Snow competition will follow, with never-before-seen edits from Justin Fronius, Anto Chamberlain, Frank Bourgeois, Toni Kerkela, Dylan Thompson and Jesse Paul.

Like past Real Series competitions, the video parts for each sport's competition will premiere on Fans can watch and vote for their favorite, and the video with the most votes will be awarded Fan Favorite accolades. The video parts will also be judged by a panel of industry experts and the X Games gold, silver and bronze medalists will be revealed in a one-hour World of X Games show that will premiere on ABC 10 after the videos drop.

This year, Real Mountain will extend the Real Series even further by debuting a digital-only fan-vote competition featuring seven North American big mountain ski resorts. Aspen Snowmass, Jackson Hole, Mammoth Mountain, Revelstoke, Snowbird, Squaw Valley and Whistler Blackcomb will each submit 90-second videos showcasing their resort-sponsored athletes skiing and snowboarding in-bounds terrain and natural features.

The resorts will film throughout the 2016/2017 winter season. The contest will run here on in November 2017.

Related Content