Zero Takes Vans Downtown Showdown

Zero Takes 3rd Annual Vans Downtown Showdown Team Title
Girl's Alex Olson Named Top Am and Rick McCrank Repeats as Top Pro

Hollywood, CA—The 3rd Vans Downtown Showdown took place Saturday, October 13 with street skating's heavies attacking custom-built obstacles set against a New York City backdrop re-created at Paramount Studios in Hollywood. The Zero board crew claimed team honors and $30,000 while Girl's Alex Olson won $5,000 as top am and Rick McCrank was named the top pro of the Showdown for the second year in a row and pocketed $10,000.

The Vans Downtown Showdown featured many skaters who rarely take part in contests from Black Label, Creature, Foundation, Girl, Real, Toy Machine and Zero and with the $85,000 purse, there was more than just board company honor on the line.

Each skateboard team submitted designs for a custom obstacle with the top four chosen and built to that team's specifications. Skateboard teams then chose three riders, consisting of at least one pro and one am, to jam on each of the four features.

For photos, video streaming and downloads and more commentary on the Vans Downtown Showdown, check out

Here's a break down of the best performances of the day:
Creature's The Darkest Passage into the Depths of Doom and Despair
1. Tyler Mumma (Black Label) - $2,500
2. Tony Cervantes (Zero) - $1,500
3. Al Partanen (Creature) - $1,000

Foundation's Former World's Biggest Skateboard
1. Tommy Sandoval (Zero) - $2,500
2. Johnny Layton (Toy Machine) - $1,500
3. Rick McCrank (Girl) - $1,000

Girl's Girl Gonz Wild
1. Billy Marks (Toy Machine) - $2,500
2. Mike Mo Capaldi (Girl) - $1,500
3. Sean Malto (Girl) - $1,000

Real's Sacto Rebate
1. Rick McCrank (Girl) - $2,500
2. Alex Olson (Girl) - $1,500
3. John Rattray (Zero) - $1,000

Top Am Performance-Alex Olson (Girl) - $5,000

Top Pro Performance-Rick McCrank (Girl) - $10,000

Overall Team Winner-Zero ($30,000), Toy Machine 2nd ($15,000), Girl 3rd ($5,000)

A big thanks to each of the teams that represented:

Creature: Darren Navarrette, Al Partinen, Sam Hitz, David Gravette, Adrian Mallory, Stu Graham, Devin Appelo, Alex Horn, Neil Heddings, Taylor Bingamen, Silent Mike, Raven Tershay.

Black Label: Jason Adams, Adam Alfaro, Kyle Leeper, Chris Troy, Shuriken Shannon, Peter Raffin, Tyler Mumma and Brian "Slash" Hansen.

Foundation: Sierra Fellers, Don Nguyen, Angel Ramirez, Abdias Rivera, David Reyes and Sean Conover.

Girl: Rick McCrank, Jereme Rogers, Sean Malto, Alex Olson, Kenny Anderson

Real: Damian Bravo, Robbie Brockel, Peter Ramondetta, Nick Dompierre, Ernie Torres, Keith Hufnagel, JT Aultz and Dennis Busenitz.

Toy Machine: Billy Marks, Josh Harmony, Matt Bennett, Austin Stephens

Zero: John Rattray, Tommy Sandoval, Garrett Hill, James Brockman, Tony Cervantes, Jamie Tancowny, Keegan Sauder

The Vans Downtown Showdown will air on December 24 at 8 pm EST/PST on the FUEL action sports network.

The Vans Downtown Showdown is made possible by Scion, Rockstar Energy Drink, Tony Hawk's Proving Ground and Gibson Guitars.