Introducing Monster Energy's new FMX High Roller comp

Monster Energy

The year's most spectacular supercross event just got better: Monster Energy announces its inaugural FMX High Rollers contest to take place at the UNLV Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas, Nevada during the Monster Energy Cup on Sat., Oct. 15, 2016.

With a total prize purse of $100,000, the Monster Energy FMX High Rollers contest will see 30 of the world's best freestyle motocross experts -- including riders from Australia, Czech Republic, France, Japan, Norway, Spain, Switzerland, and the US -- battle it out in three competition formats: Dirt Shark Biggest Whip, Freestyle Motocross (FMX), and Quarterpipe Big Air. Further upping the ante, the three-hour contest will act as the official qualifier for the Moto X Best Whip and Freestyle events at X Games Minneapolis 2017.

As a highlight of this year's Pit Party sideline event, the Monster Energy FMX High Rollers contest will take place in the pits of UNLV Sam Boyd Stadium during Monster Energy Cup practice. Featuring a full day of entertainment including a Monster Energy DJ, rider autographs, freestyle motocross and experiential elements, the Pit Party is free of charge with a valid Monster Energy Cup ticket from 12 p.m. - 6 p.m. on Oct. 15, 2016.

Chris Tedesco/ESPN

X Games gold medalist Taka Higashino will be on hand at the inaugural FMX High Rollers competition in Las Vegas, Nevada, vying for a qualifying position into X Games Minneapolis 2017.

Kicking off the FMX action from 1:30 p.m. - 2 p.m., the Dirt Shark Biggest Whip competition will narrow a field of 16 riders down to three finalists going head-to-head for the most spectacular aerial stunts, also known as "whips." Top competitors include Monster Energy team riders Axell Hodges, Edgar Torronteras, Bryce Hudson, and Jeremy Stenberg. Former winners Tom Parsons and Jarryd McNeil will also be competing.

Starting at 2:30 p.m. to 4:15 p.m., the Freestyle Motocross (FMX) event will see 16 riders attack an obstacle course with their best tricks during two 75-second runs each. Competing for the $30,000 prize for first place -- the day's highest FMX payout -- will be Monster Energy's Blake Williams, Harry Bink, Nate Adams, and Taka Higashino, the first Japanese freestyle motocross rider to win a medal at the X Games. Jackson Strong, Adam Jones, David Rinaldo and more to be announced will also be competing in the FMX event.

Wrapping things up, the first ever FMX Quarterpipe High Air competition will feature ten riders in pursuit of the day's highest aerial from 4:30 p.m. to 5 p.m. The rider who successfully boosts the highest quarterpipe air will ride away with the victory for this inaugural event.

"The Monster Energy Cup is a headline Monster event and adding the freestyle component of motocross with an all-star line-up will definitely elevate the overall event and fan experience this year," said Monster Energy Vice President of Sports Marketing Mitch Covington.

For exclusive updates, visit Monster Energy or follow along on Monster's Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Please note contest times are subject to change.

Related Content